Sensei! 先生! by Kawahara Kazune

        

      Sensei! is written by the same author of Koukou Debut.        This is a series that is 20 volumes long, which I came across in my regular manga rental store.  It is about how a high school girl, Hibiki fall for a teacher and how it became a tricky problem(s) as it is not allowed to do so,   and other side plots which include the love stories of her best friends  as well.  A rather straight-forward storyline, with more realistic themes.  Not your regular teacher x student fall in love & happy ever after kind of scenarios.

         I’m amazed at how this series can run into 20 volumes and even more amazed at how I much patience  I have to read through them, as the story seems quite predictable.  There were some silly moments, like miscommunication breakdown, confessions that gone haywire? But the couple to look out for is actually Chigusa and Nagisa.  I think the best romantic scenes in this series is actually by them.

          However, for those who read Koukou Debut and decide to read this…try not to expect too much.  No matter what, it is her first manga.  Hence, the artwork for this is pretty raw….really raw….the lines are not drawn properly and is kind of messy. Even have a bit of a hard time reading the facial expressions.  But the plot keeps it moving…..so I guess it’s not too bad.  For Kawahara’s early early work, I think is not a bad try.  The artwork kind of pick up after the 9th volume, which makes you see the angst, the happiness of the characters more easily.   I’m kind of worried about those fans who are hooked on Sensei!, as the scanlations are only up to around Vol. 4 (as of Jan 07) & there are 16 more volumes to go…knowing how tedious it takes to translate…I’m not sure how soon will the scans finish.  But one thing for sure, after so many years in the market, I’m sure Sensei! won’t be licensed anytime soon.

          Comparing Sensei! with Koukou Debut, I of course prefer the latter, which is funnier and more wacky, with some delicate moments.  Yoh in Koukou Debut, to me, is still one of the most memorable bishies so far? Don’t you all agree?   The many faces of Yoh dealing with Haruna..

(Nonsense text by me..)

  What Is THAT you are wearing?!!! I’m not going out with you like this…

 How can you be so superficial!I I don’t think that’s any of your business!!  Who do you think you are?!………………….   ooh…what’s that puppy look face on him? is he trying to apologise??!               

Ok, that’s all for now….What I’m hoping now is Koukou Debut won’t run into such a long series like Sensei!   I’ll be *old* when the books are all out….                              **************

4 thoughts on “Sensei! 先生! by Kawahara Kazune

  1. Guaflo says:

    Hello,

    i start studying chinese because i can’t wait any more for the translations but i can’t find any website with the raws for Sensei.

    i am just wondering if you know where can i read the Raw for Sensei?
    i will appriaciate any info you can provide me with.

    thanks,

  2. piyoagain says:

    wow, i really like Manga Sensei!

    the story is beautiful, one of the best manga that i have ever read and the perfect story student x teacher 😀

    unfortunately, manga scan that translated to english until now, only vol.01-vol.09
    i hope some group scanlators can continue translating this manga

Leave a Reply

