Friday Lunch

               “Hey, Its Friday! Let’s have a good lunch”…

        My collegue was in such a good mood, after returning from an isolated country trip, and he needed some really good food to make up for the loss……the first question that came to my mind is..

‘Don’t we need to work?’

‘Oh, your boss is around?’

i gave up..cos Boss is on Hiatus too…i was more worried about returning late..

         We ended up at Corduroy and Finch…..I was hoping for a better experience this time.  I came here twice last year – and had incidents that made me rather piss.  First visit – the beef steak is served lukewarm, not hot, or even warm!  2nd visit, i ordered the lambshank dish – which was supposedly one of their specialities.  Somehow, it just dosen’t taste right.  Maybe it’s done in a rush? I’m not sure…all i can remember was i was swearing off this place forever then! No matter how good their desserts are!

         For today, i decided to lower my expectations and get something light instead. Ordered a Mediterrian Platter and their Crab cream soup… Hmm…the Crap soup is still as yummy as ever, this is one of their best sellers.  The Meditterian Platter is quite good too – with the mix of different seafood, but it comes with a hefy price.    With a  nice quiet environment on a Friday lunch time & great company today, somehow, this place seems to be better than the last time I was here?

            However, personally, I felt that this place is kind of over hyped, and my friends were kind of disappointed with some of the main dishes during the last visit.  The only good thing here is the desserts and the ambience.  I kind of like the interiors – it looks really cosy – especially at night with its dim light & woody feel. 

 Well, the ‘fantastic’ part is that they have this steps leading to the 2nd storey…the steps look suspiciously narrow and failing the building requirements.  The climacophobic in me was hoping i don’t miss a step and fall down flat in front of everyone’s views!

               On the ground floor, they have this Merchandise section – selling utensils, egg holders, cat designs kettles etc.  & delicious Take-away cakes on the ground floor.  Really i thought, maybe this will do better as a cafe than a restaurant? Hmmm, I think i’ll consider coming back in future for its desserts though.  Unless I’m a ‘Ah siah Kiah’ (aka Rich Man’s son) .

p.s. I think I need to get a camera really really soon..

Leave a Reply

